Meat Council

The TFGA Meat Council represents the interests of this important agricultural sector. In addition to representing the interests of its members, TFGA Meat Council also aims to:

  • Provide leadership for Tasmanian red meat producers;
  • Encourage education and personal development; and
  • Improve production systems.

The Chairperson of the Meat Council is Roger Clemons

Vegetable Council

The TFGA Vegetable Council is the combined voice of vegetable growers in Tasmania. Growers of crops that include potatoes, onions, beans, peas, carrots and brassica's (broccoli, cauliflower and brussel sprouts) are represented through the Vegetable Council and by national peak body Ausveg.

The Vegetable Council aims to:

  • Improve profitability;
  • Identify of new markets;
  • Identify ongoing research and development.

These activities, together with value adding and the continued advancement in promotion of Tasmania's quality agricultural produce are objectives of the Council.

The committees representing your interests are:

• McCain Potatoes
• Simplot Processed Potatoes
• Simplot Seed Potatoes
• Simplot Peas
• Simplot Beans
• Simplot Brassicas
• Simplot Carrots
• Onion Growers
• Pyrethrum Growers
• Fresh Market & Export Growers

The Chairperson of the Vegetable Council is Nathan Richardson

Wool Council

TFGA Wool Council is committed to a profitable future for its members and a viable future for Tasmanian wool producers. Through the wool council farmers benefit from the activities of the TFGA and Wool Producers Australia (WPA)

The Wool Council:

  • Works constructively with industry stakeholders;
  • Ensures that positive outcomes for wool growers are achieved;
  • Provides Tasmanian wool growers with a voice on a diverse range of issues; and
  • Maintains current knowledge on the important issues facing the industry as a whole as well as individual businesses.

The Chairperson of the Wool Council is Tim McShane

Dairy Council

The TFGA Dairy Council represents the interests of Tasmanian dairy farmers. Through Dairy Council, dairy farmers benefit from the activities of the Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association and Australian Dairy Farmers Ltd (ADF).

The Dairy Council

  • Works constructively with dairy industry stakeholders, ensuring that positive outcomes for dairy farmers are achieved;
  • Provides dairy farmers with a voice on a diverse range of issues; and
    Keeps in touch with the local dairy community and maintains current knowledge on the important
  • issues facing the industry as a whole as well as individual dairy farm businesses.

Your Dairy Council Chairperson is Geoff Cox

Agriculture Commodity Council

The Agriculture Commodity Council is the umbrella body for a number of TFGA Commodity Committees and it provides a mechanism for the election of a Director to the TFGA Board.

The commodities represented through the Agriculture Commodity Council are:

  • Cereals & Seeds Committee
  • Poppy Committee
  • Forestry Committee
  • Chicken Growers Group

Your Agriculture Council Chairperson is Corey Spencer